Travels with COVID

With two shots of the vaccine under our belts — or more appropriately, in our arms — we felt a little more comfortable venturing onto the travel scene.

We flew to California, away from the endless cold Nebraska winter armed with an ample supply of masks — one for every occasion. We also treated ourselves to first class so we could cocoon a bit from heavy traffic and crowds. We’d hoped for a direct flight to Palm Springs but settled for a layover in Phoenix. The airports felt a little surreal. Traffic is picking up, but things are noticeably quieter. Masks were required in most situations. Hand sanitizers were at the ready. We were given small plastic bags as we boarded the plane, complete with hand sanitizer, bottled water and a small bag of snacks. Forget something more to eat, even in first class.

Our vacation was at a resort in Palm Springs which we had visited last year. But what a difference a year — and a pandemic — makes. Masks were required at all the public places. Jacuzzis and saunas closed. The family theatre on site closed. A walking water stroll called the Lazy River also closed. California takes the virus seriously. Restaurants were limited to outdoor dining and takeout. It seemed very odd eating at a four-star restaurant in a parking lot!

The one place that felt fairly normal (if there is such a thing anymore) was the golf course. With just my husband and I in our own twosome, we could remove our masks. Many times when it’s just us two playing, if we notice another couple in back of us, we might ask them to join us. I felt some reluctance doing that, but my husband plunged right in. One couple courteously declined. Another single player said, “Why not. I’ve been vaccinated.” We assured him that we had as well so he joined us for nine holes and a delightful conversation.

Our daughter and grandson drove over from Los Angeles. Her job is such that she has worked mostly from home for the past year. So with her computer in tow, she could continue to tend to work details from the resort. Same for her son, a freshman in high school, who has spent the entire year learning on line, never having the chance to meet his new classmates face to face. A disappointing way to start high school, but he’s dealing with it.

Every journey has its unexpecteds Ours was an errant tee shot that sent a golf ball through the window of our rental car. Could have been worse. I could have been sitting there!

But there were positive features as well, like meeting a fellow blogger in person. I’ll save the details for another post, but what a delight. I was glad she and her husband had both received their vaccines, so the four of us felt comfortable sharing a table at a coffee shop in LaQuinta. Still we had to check signals when we had our picture taken, just to make sure we felt comfortable with arms wrapped around each other. Oh, COVID, what have you done to us!

Don’t get me wrong. I am a firm believer in all of these COVID restrictions. We all need the vaccine, and we also need to abide by the additional precautions if we are to really harness this nasty virus. Mask wearing, social distancing, good hygiene. All of that. But it still gives me pause to reflect on how all of this has changed us.

Some changes are obvious; others more subtle. I sense we are more cautious with our social interactions or coming in contact with those we don’t know. At times, we are even suspect of each other. Not wearing a mask? Hmm. Why not? Are you…..(okay, we won’t get political here). In pre-COVID times, I believe we made more eye contact with strangers, even smiles. Now I’m more apt to see a downcast eye or even a sidewise glance if an individual is standing a little too close or not wearing a mask.

Then there’s the seamier side to COVID conditions. The awful Asian hate. One afternoon at an outdoor restaurant I noticed an attractive Asian woman about my age. Her beauty was striking. It made me want to comment as I passed by her table. But in light of the current environment, I’m not sure what her reaction would have been.

Clearly, the virus has brought changes to us and made changes in us. Or perhaps it has just exposed things in and about us that were already there. Like how we handle change. Do we strike back? Do we blame? Or do we deal the hand we’re given with strength and grace? It’s our choice to make.

There’s not a day that goes by that I don’t take the time to express gratitude for my current circumstances. The inconveniences we experienced during our travels were just that — minor inconveniences, hardly even disruptive to what we wanted to do. But what of those, I ponder, who have suffered gravely during this pandemic, experiencing loss of a family member, a friend, a job, a business and livelihood, or their own health. My family and I are fortunate and grateful beyond measure.

As for traveling, well, I’m glad to be home. It was great to see our daughter and grandson and enjoy the California warmth. But spring has nearly arrived here in Nebraska, so I can look forward to warmer days here at home. The virus is still with us. It lingers even in our little town where, unfortunately, few people wear masks. There was a major outbreak at the school in the neighboring town which hosted a speech meet for area schools.

We will survive this virus. I know we will. But there will be some permanent changes because of it. What those are remain to be seen. But in the meantime, it has certainly provided plenty of lessons for a long lived life. Stay calm, focused and carry on. Do your homework and use some common sense. And above all, be grateful for what you have.

Author: Kate Sullivan

I'm a native Nebraskan, farm girl at heart. I served as a State Senator for 8 years in the Nebraska Legislature. Now, in my retirement, I'm looking for a new outlet for my energies.

2 thoughts on “Travels with COVID”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started